New Cinderella

I saw the new Cinderella movie today.  It was…okay.  It wasn’t bad, but I wouldn’t call it good, either. It was a retelling of the Walt Disney Cinderella with live-action and a few embellishments.  It offered insights and backstory for all of the characters, but not so much as to clutter the story.  I found some of the extra characters more appealing than Cinderella and her prince; however, I think it had more to do with directing instructions and story dialogue than casting issues.  I wanted more for Cinderella.  I felt like she was an incomplete character dying for more development.  She wasn’t completely passive like the original, but she could have been so much more.
Personally, I preferred Maleficent.
Anyway, besides those points, the cinematography was beautiful and the soundtrack was good enough.  My only musical complaint was the end credits song. It wasn’t bad, but it didn’t hold me in the theater.

Leave a Reply

