Reducing I and Increasing You

I don’t know if it’s true, but it feels like the bits I am adding to conversations have been focused on events beginning with “I,” instead of conversation pieces about something else.  Anyway, I’m trying to be less self-centered and monitor my inputs to conversations again.  Of course, what people know and understand generally begins with their own perspective, but I think it might behoove me to rework some phrases without the “I did” or “my family” etc. etc.

I forgot about this earlier, but another thing I do is I start thinking the reason someone isn’t talking to me or seems odd when I do talk to them is because I did something wrong.  I don’t always jump to this conclusion, but it does happen sometimes, especially if I think I did something stupid or said something wrong the last time we met.  This is a completely self-centered way to consider the situation, and people’s issues are rarely with the person they see–unless, of course, an actual reason for someone to be upset with you exists.

I want to ask people if something is wrong if they look upset, but I also don’t want to be nosy.  I am kind of a nosy person, so I might still ask.  However, if I think it might upset them when I ask what’s wrong, I do my best to mind my own business and change the subject.

Leave a Reply

